Tags

, , , ,

This morning I got up to a new Patreon post from Simon Forster – an Owlbear lair. This immediately reminded me of one of my favourite RPGs of all time. Around nine years ago, Jason Morningstar ran an RPG challenge where all entries had to involve Owlbears and either Mark Twain or Beekeeping. There were a variety of entries. But one of them I immediately printed out and have kept ever since.

Owlbears-5This is an RPG that I keep around in my “Best ideas for an RPG ever” bin. It totally influenced every element of my work on the not-quite-award-winning “A Flask Full of Gasoline” RPG. It is a piece of genius. I place it next to Sea Dracula in my collection of brilliant stuff I wish I had written.

It is OWLBEARS.

So with today’s reminder, I opened up the PDF again and was chuckling as I read it when I checked out the Properties tab… and discovered that the author is none other than fellow Canadian superstar of the OSR – Stuart Robertson of Strange Magic & Robertson Games.

I HAVE CHALLENGED SIR ROBERTSON THAT WE MUST MEET. WE MUST DRESS IN GARBAGE BAGS, TAPE OWL MASKS TO OUR FACES AND DUEL WITH BEEHIVES AND HOCKEY STICKS.

AND IT WILL BE AWESOME!

WE

WILL

BE

OWLBEARS!

 

(You can get your own copy of Owlbears from this link or by clicking on the Owl mask)