Tags

, , , , , , ,

I made this video while talking about my crosshatching style on google plus. It’s a progress shot of the map I’ll be posting tomorrow – the Morlock Lairs north of the Lost River Cave. I wish I could say this was some of my better work, but it was my first time trying to handle a camera in one hand while drawing with another, so the lines are a bit shaky at times and not always exactly where I wanted them.

Regardless, it does show some of the key tricks in my work

– angling the ends of the lines so the next set have an obvious crossing point
– changing the number of lines (3, 4, 5, 2) per set
– differing lengths of lines

and finally

Just run with it and get it over with, and in time you’ll get better at it. I’ve been crosshatching nearly every day for almost 6 years now.