Tags

, , ,

Here’s a photo from last weekend’s 3.5 D&D session – just rediscovered my old d30 sitting in my girlfriend’s dice bag. When I bought this one I also bought the incredibly weaksauce “30 Sided Dice Gaming Tables”. With such little inspiration to go on from that book, the die fell into a dice bag and was promptly ignored for a long time except as a curiosity and to determine the day of the month.

Atharva's d30

Atharva’s d30

It only started making appearances again in 2003 when it was added to a D&D3.x game as a “Benny”. Whenever you spent a benny / action point / boost in that game instead of getting a flat bonus or a d6 bonus, you would roll the d30 instead of the d20. Now it would see a lot more use, except that I also have a Koplow d30 that I find easier to read (I’m an old guy, so bold white print on an opaque black die works way better for me). New Big Dragon puts out some awesome books of d30 tables that really put the old Armory book to shame (that said, just about ANY d30 table would put the Armory tables to shame).

Also in the photo is the map of Atharva’s Point that we’re using in the game (one of the player’s maps, thus the grease stains). I haven’t released the map publicly because it’s actually a map I drew for a commission by the awesome Ron Edwards and then fucked around with a bit for my own campaign.

Here’s the Koplow d30 that I end up using most often. I’m not a huge fan of the numbering system (it is basically a “spin down” die, in that if you turn it one facing at a time you can count down from the 30 face to the 1 face) because a skilled die-roller could really manipulate the results towards the high or low end of the spectrum, but since I’m not a skilled die roller and I use it mostly behind the scenes for random table results, it does the job for me.

Koplow d30