Tags

, , , , , , , ,

grid-notebookAs seen in the background of the pictures of the dice I “inked” the other day, I picked up some tiny little grid notepads at the Dollarama. They aren’t great, but they do make me work at a different scale than the letter size I’ve been working at lately, and still smaller than the maps I drew in my various notebooks and sketchbooks.

Unfortunately, the actual pages inside the notebook have 9 squares across the bottom of the page instead of 10, otherwise they would be brilliant for drawing dungeon geomorphs, and we all know that Dave’s Mapper could use some new Dyson Geomorphs, right?

Anyways, I’ve taken to occasionally pulling the pad out when I need a break from something else, or just want the challenge of working in a smaller space.  The first example of this is a mini-map I put together just after moving into my new place. I call it “Big Goat Island”.

Big Goat Island

Big Goat Island

Measuring in at just under 2″ x 3″, the whole thing was drawn using the smallest of my Sakura Micron pens (the 005, which produces a 0.2mm line). I realized I like putting farmland on my regional maps around the cities… because crosshatching!

My latest foray into the little book of awesome maps was for the Friday Five Minute Map – something I haven’t done in ages but keep thinking I should. Instead of using a very small pen for this, I went for the biggest Micron I own, a 08 which draws a nice fat 0.5mm line, and did the detail work using the pen I usually use for my outlining, the Micron 03 (a 0.35mm line). Five minutes isn’t a lot of time for a map, so the crosshatching obviously suffered.

Friday Five Minute Cave

Friday Five Minute Cave