Tags

, , , ,

I figure I already lost most of my old school cred back when I confessed that I have no love, heck, no appreciation for all things metal. While I’m at it, I figured I’d mention the argument that I hear on occasion that “old school gaming” is purely based on nostalgia and not on any other perceived or real benefits of the games.

Inking in progress

Inking in progress

I finally filled in the digits on my Gamescience dice today (the photo above is early in the process – I used a white Sharpie china marker that I bought specifically for the task). While the process was a nice shot of nostalgia, and the dice are about 28.7 times more useful now, I still just don’t get the love that these dice receive. Maybe if they were bigger I’d like them more, but as they stand I find them light and awkward in my big meaty hands.

I think the last time I crayoned in the digits on my dice was in 1981-1982 or so. Also, the d4 is a pain in the ass to fill in. In the next few days I’ll probably ink my girlfriend’s set (identical black opaques… I’m a dice purist in another way – I stick to opaque white and black dice as much as I can), then I hope to never do this again.

Inked and Pretty!

Inked and Pretty!

The nostalgia factor was there in the flashback to the early 80’s of having to do this for the dice I bought from TSR in the Basic D&D set and in the old “Dragon Dice” that they used to sell in blister packs along with the crayon to fill them in. But that’s all the nostalgia I can take today, I’m grabbing some nice hefty dice when it comes time to roll them again.