Tags

, , , , , ,

I know that according to the nay-sayers, novels like Katherine Kurtz’s Deryni series and Robin Hobb’s Farseer trilogy showed once and for all that psionics have no place in fantasy literature and thus in Fantasy games.

But I’m a fan. I’ve been a fan for a very long time (hell, one of my first AD&D characters was a psionic dwarf, and he’s the character I’ve played more than any other besides possibly my Ventrue from Vampire the Masquerade). I really enjoy the 3.5e psionics system and the Dreamscarred Press’ take on said system for the Pathfinder RPG.

But I’ve had a lot of psionics rules sets over the decades I’ve been gaming – from the psionics-focused modern setting of FGU’s Psi-World (who’s iconic image I used above) and the Role-Aids “Psionics” book, the expanded psionics rules and 1e psionicist class from Dragon Magazine (with a lot of awesomeness brought in from the Deryni novels), and even the 2e AD&D psionics book (one of the few 2e books I own).

I think a lot of my acceptance for psionics in fantasy stems not just from the novels I mentioned above, but also from playing a lot of Rolemaster back in the old days – Rolemaster divides magic into three schools – Channeling (D&D divine magic), Essence (D&D arcane magic) and Mentalism (D&D psionics – roughly). Psionics just “jive” with what I expect from cool sword & sorcery fantasy, where every spell caster is unique instead of falling into the standard tropes of the classic wizard as given to us by Gandalf and Merlin.

So I throw it out there for my readers, are there any awesome psionics rules sets that I haven’t talked about, are there any awesome ones that work specifically with B/X D&D or Labyrinth Lord? Do you use psionics in your games? Why or why not? Give me your psionics tales and gut reactions.