Tags

, , , , , ,

Here’s a 12-step animation of a map in progress.

The vast majority of my dungeon maps are drawn in a single draft, straight to pen. This was an exception. Since I was doing a montage, I went whole-hog and started with basic pencil lines and worked my way up to pen and ink work.

Tools used in this craft:

- One sheet of 4-quad graph paper.
– Mechanical pencil (0.5mm)
– Micron 05 pen (for the walls)
– Micron 01 pen (for details & hatching)
– Staedtler eraser

Scanning was done at each step using a crappy 4-in-1 printer. Contrast of each scan was increased by +25. The final step has a further increase in both brightness and contrast of +25.

animated-dysons-dungeons

If you like this, and think it’s worth something, consider checking out my Patreon campaign. Through patreon the fans become patrons of my work, allowing me to continue to work at map-making by sending me a little (or not so little) money every time I release a map. You can fund me for as little or as much as you like. Even 5c or 25c per map is a great “thank you” as it encourages me to create more.

Here’s the full sequence of frames in order as I scanned them:

Step 01

Step 01

Step 02

Step 02

Step 03

Step 03

Step 04

Step 04

Step 05

Step 05

Step 06

Step 06

Step 07

Step 07

Step 08

Step 08

Step 09

Step 09

Step 10

Step 10

Step 11

Step 11

Step 12

Step 12

Click for 300 dpi final copy

Click for 300 dpi final copy

