Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Desecration Elemental (c) Wizards of the Coast

Desecration Elemental (c) Wizards of the Coast

Three years ago I posted a series of five articles expanding upon the four basic types of elementals from most D&D-esque games. First of all it added a fifth general type of elemental (Wood) and then added a dozen subtypes to each type.

So instead of just an Earth Elemental, you could have a Desert Elemental, a Graveyard Elemental or a Crystal Elemental. I rebuilt these articles in Dodecahedron Issue 2, and then expanded on each list in Magical Theorems & Dark Pacts.

Here’s the original articles in question:

But I just couldn’t figure out how to wrangle in one more thing I really wanted to do with elementals. Fortunately someone else handled this for me with astounding acumen.

Last week, Rachel Ghoul posted up an article on Concept Elementals that meshes perfectly with my own elemental subtypes. A sixth general elemental type where each subtype covers something awesome… I desperately wanted to have Time Elementals, Spite Elementals, Madness Elementals and so on.

And now the structure for it exists. Thank you!

