Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I’ll preface this post with a quick ARGH! We have no internet at home and the wonderful people at our ISP can’t give us a reason as to why we have no internet. So I spent this morning replacing all our hardware piece by piece – modem, cables, router, more cables… Nada. So this is the first post of the great Dyson Interwebz Blackout.

Tower of the Mad Wizard

Tower of the Mad Wizard

Today, while panicking about my lack of internet, I got an email from Ry (who seems to have changed his website again – to the appropriately named ryswebsite.com) who took up the challenge from the Toronto Fringe Festival to run / play D&D in front of a live audience. I read the ads on reddit a few times and desperately wished that I was in Toronto to get involved in this.

And in the end, I got to make an appearance in my own way. Via the map. Ry ran “The Tower of the Mad Wizard” for six hours at the Toronto Fringe Festival using a kit-bashed (loose) 3.5 rule set and a series of life-and-death themed monsters.

From the quick synopsis I got, the party had to ascend a massive stone pillar via a stairway on the outside of the huge black monolith, and then from there they entered into the stony depths themselves, as portrayed by this map of the interior, made from judiciously modified geomorphs from the vertical morphology collection.

So, while I managed to get to the Fringe Festival indirectly, I have to add that it was only courtesy of Ry who did this most awesome game, and of course Jeff Rients who I blame for this whole vertical morphology thing.

Bonus cool? Game 3 at least (and I assume the first two) were hosted at Snakes & Lattes, a gaming cafe in Toronto that is uber cool.

Congrats to the Fringe Festival for doing this whole “Dungeons & Dragons (not) the Musical” event, and to Ry for bringing the awesome to it!

