Tags

, , , , ,

Temple of the Heresy

Temple of the Heresy

When I bought the latest batch of pens and started playing around with them (leading to the post-apocalyptic Wheelz! scenario map I posted on Friday) I also tried my hand at a style of map I had never done before, but had seen a lot.

Mostly I see this sort of map style in the Call of Cthulhu books and the drawings of medieval castles in Palladium’s Castles book. It uses thick black lines to represent stonework, and looks very bare, but is also very clear and easy to read.

In the end, I put a few more details than I probably should have (the stairs up to the altar, the altar itself, maybe even the doors should have been omitted and just had openings in the walls where they should be), but I enjoy the spare effect overall. However I doubt I’ll draw too many more maps in this style, I prefer mapping out my dungeons to mapping out the city’s buildings.

Temple of the Heresy

Temple of the Heresy

