Tags

, , ,

A Doodle Map

A Doodle Map

I have a mapping problem. That is to say, I map.

Not that I draw maps, but that I can’t stop drawing maps. It has gone past conscious control. My willpower is too weak when confronted with a pen and some paper to not leave behind a dungeon, cavern or some other game-oriented map.

It started when I decided to challenge myself to draw at least one map worthy of posting to my blog every week. That’s my Friday Map, and I’ve managed to stick to one a week for quite a while now (with a few that I posted on other days of the week along the way).

But the side effect is that when my hands are free, I doodle. And I don’t doodle knights or dragons or swords… I doodle maps.

My ex girlfriend was cleaning up her apartment and lo and behold there were even post-it-maps.

Here’s one she photographed and sent over to remind me:

The Doodle Map - Click for a somewhat larger view

The Doodle Map - Click for a somewhat larger view

I can’t stop. I’ve left doodle-maps behind in doctor’s offices, at bus stops, in phone books, on application forms, and there is at least one doodle-map on each of the character sheets of the characters I’ve played in the last four months.

I map, therefore I am.

Would that be “Scribo ergo sum”? I’m not sure. I can’t find a proper translation of map and I haven’t conjugated in latin in over a decade, but it may have to do.

Anyways, here’s the final product of the above, cropped and contrast-enhanced.

The cavern of Nuhdra-Varn

The cavern of Nuhdra-Varn

