Tags

, , ,

Mapper's Challenge

Mapper’s Challenge

A few weeks ago Anne looked at the map I was drawing for another project (hopefully to be released this month) and asked if I was drawing a full-page map. I wasn’t at the time, but I took it as a challenge.

The end result is posted here, and has been nicknamed “the Mapper’s Challenge”. It is a one-page, one-level dungeon map with multiple elevations, mixes of finished rooms, halls and chambers along with natural caves and an underground river. The entry point is in the lower middle of the map, indicated by an arrow.

I haven’t even considered stocking this bizarre map yet. I figure it was once a set of deep gnome warrens that has since been taken over by three different groups of creatures (depending on the level of the party, either goblins, kobolds and hobgoblins, or perhaps lizardmen, bugbears and wererats – and maybe a small colony of doppelgangers to keep paranoia levels high).

Please feel free to use this map in your own games. I would love to see the sheer confusion and consternation it will cause your party’s mapper (although feel free to not use it if you do the mapping for your players).

In all, it took me about four days to draw this map in my spare time. The small cross-hatching accounted for about 2/3 of that time investment. I’m definitely looking at larger cross-hatching for future maps, even if it doesn’t look as awesome.

(Click for full size)

(Click map for full size image)

 

The actual copyright of this map is not my own – it has been sold to a third party and thus it remains one of the few maps on my blog that cannot be used on your own blogs or publications.

