Tags

, ,

The Ruins of Tuhreak - Side View

The Ruins of Tuhrek - Side View

After watching one of my D&D players map our games in an awesomely old-school feel, I’ve decided I’ve got to make the effort to upgrade my map-making skills. To this end, I’ll be forcing myself to post one of my maps every Friday – if I don’t have a new one that I’ve drawn to post, then I’ll dig through the maps I have lying around from previous campaigns and post those instead (with the goal being to embarrass myself into posting new maps instead, thus having to draw them and practice).

A Rust Monster Ate My Sword also deserves a tip of the hat here, for posting his own “scanning project” – where he’s scanning in all kinds of old dungeons and goodies.

The first project I’m undertaking is a remaking of my classic “mini mega dungeon” – the Ruins of Tuhrek. This is a dungeon I designed first when I was 13, and then rebuilt based on requests by my players when we relaunched that campaign in the early 90’s. Now I’m going through and being a bit brutal, removing a few of the sub-levels that didn’t really belong or suit the overall feel of the adventure, and expanding on those areas that the players (and I) enjoyed the most in our explorations of the ruins.

The first map to go back on my drawing board is the one that screams “old school” the most to me – the side view which always brings me back to the Moldvay Basic book. I’ll start posting some of the detail maps of the various areas in the Ruins of Tuhrek as the weeks go on, probably starting with the old rebel post in the hills, and then into the goblin warrens under the tower.

The Ruins of Tuhreak - Side View

The Ruins of Tuhrek - Side View

