Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hot Chicks the RPG

Hot Chicks the RPG

Hot Chicks, the Roleplaying Game. From the moment you read the title it is a hard game to take seriously, and the cover does nothing to help it out. Yet, for some reason I picked it up in a batch of other games (mostly old school classics and Judges Guild modules I had missed or lost) from RPGNow. One of the reasons was purely fascination that someone could release a nearly 500 page RPG with this as the theme.

I’m glad I have it in PDF – a print copy would be an eyesore, and hard to explain away when spotted on your bookshelf.

Six years in the future, the whole planet is in trouble with aliens and demons working together with corrupt humans to really screw the place over. My first thought is that’s a lot of change in six years, then I realized that really, they could have set it last week and I would have believed it.

The art throughout the book is mostly 3D, full colour, nearly naked, and garish. The system is simple and flexible – a basic d20 “roll under” system based on stats and skill. The game allows for super powers, magic, psionics, and cybernetics (all developed in the past six years, no less).

Obviously, if I’m going to make a character for Hot Chicks, I’m going to have to go all-out and make… a hot chick. Let’s go for a Lingerie Model turned Psychic Warrior of Righteousness. With guns. Mmmm… guns.

Stats are generated randomly with 2d4+2 for each and placed as you want between the 6 statistics. I’m glad to see there is no Charisma or Comeliness stat here, so everyone gets to be a “Hot Chick”, even if the dice hate them. I go for a pretty high Intelligence and Dexterity, since I’m looking to make a psychic warrior of some kind. She’s a bit weak on Perception, but I can live with that, or at least I’ll never notice the difference. After determining a few derived characteristics, I have to pick 5 merits and then up to 5 flaws (and get an additional merit for every flaw chosen). And here’s the Hot Chick merit. Can’t go without that one, but I think I’ll pass on “A Whore in the Bedroom”. I only take one flaw – Ridiculous Nails – because I’m not a fan of merit/flaw systems in general. I use the extra merit that gives me to up my Risk Points again (good for being lucky in the game, as well as powering my psychic powers).

The skills run from levels 1 to 6, and each character starts with 40 skill points to spend on them. Obviously I want psionics, so that’s one skill I take at level 5… level 6 just seems a bit over the top so I’ll leave that as something to work towards. A final interesting choice in game design is reminiscent of the first edition of Shadowrun – you buy special abilities out of your starting cash. So the two psychic powers I’m looking for (a psychic shield to stop bullets and a psychic attack power) end up costing $40k out of the character’s $50k starting money. The final $10k is spent on a pair of sweet machine pistols and a big wad of cash.

And there we go, one hot lingerie model with guns and a bit of psychic defense and offense, ready to save the world against corrupt political scum and their demonic alien overlords.

Susan “Swan” Gygax

Strength: 6
Stamina: 7
Agility: 8
Dexterity: 10
Intelligence: 9
Perception: 4

Shrugs: 4
Speed: 18
Will: 8
Initiative: 9
Damage Resistance: 14
Risk Points: 100

Merits
Hot Chick (+2 on all rolls where appearance can help)
Fast (+3 Initiative)
Mind of Power (access to Psionics)
Ambidexterity (can make 2 attacks without penalty using two different weapons)
Danger’s Bitch x2 (+20 Risk Points)

Flaws
Ridiculous Nails (-2 punching)

Skills
Use Psionics +5
Handguns +5
Melee +4
Acting +2
Escapology +3 (from all those bondage gear photo shoots)
Investigation +2
Security +2
Seduction +3
Stealth +2
Dancing +2
Ropework +3 (again with the bondage!)
Computers +1 (runs her own website)
Cars +3
Streetwise +3

Psionics
Psycho-kinetic Blast (15 / 20 / 25 dmg, AP2, 2 / 3 / 5 Risk)
Psycho-kinetic Barrier (DR 20, 3 Shrugs, 4 Risk)

Hardware
2 x Stealth 7mm Machine Pistols (+0 Acc, 10 dam, 15/20/40/80 rng, 50 shots, 0 kick, undetectable, mod rails)
500 rounds of Armor Piercing Explosive Incendiary 7mm ammo ($1.10 per round, ignores 2 armor shrugs, destroys 3 armor shrugs if it doesn’t penetrate or does 2 extra shrugs of damage, does 1 shrug per turn until removed).

$6,966

