Tags

, , ,

Adventures in the New Kingdoms

Adventures in the New Kingdoms

The lengths I’ll go through to make a map… I’m actually really getting into mapping by hand right now, but I used to be hooked on a really old windows hexmapping program called… Hexmapper. There’s even a great Hexmapper community on Yahoo called Hexmapper Heaven where the creator of Hexmapper hangs out now and there are a bunch of custom tilesets to download.

Including the classic Expert Rules tileset. Which is exactly the feel I want for Adventures in the New Kingdoms.

So, upon discovering that it won’t run using WINE on my Linux box, I had to set up a full virtual windows machine on here to run it. Yeah, I was that desperate. Next time I’ll just buy some hex paper and map by hand.

But the end result is here, just under the cut.

First Draft Map of the New Kingdoms

First Draft Map of the New Kingdoms

Obviously I need to go into it now with the GIMP and add text naming the major cities at the very least, and some political divisions, but a bit more work and I’ll have the first page of Booklet 11 ready to go for the game.

